Primary Night Brings No Local Surprises; Very Low Turnout

By Mike Fourcher | Wednesday, March 21, 2012

32nd Ward Ald. Scott Waguespack is now also the the Ward Democratic Committeeman. Official photo.

While Republican Presidential candidates treated Illinois like a bellwether state, Roscoe View-area voters mostly yawned and skipped the polls yesterday, resulting in possible record low turnout.

City-wide, only 23.9% of registered voters bothered to vote, according to the Chicago Board of Elections’ unofficial tally. But the Roscoe View-area set even lower standards with only 20.4% of voters turned out in Lakeview’s 44th Ward while 17.6% of voters turned out in the 32nd Ward, a stunningly low turnout that was only marginally helped by interest in the GOP Presidential primary. Only a few hundred more Republican voters showed up this year versus 2010. In that year 27% of Chicago’s registered voters turned out.

Although a tough battle for 32nd Ward Democratic Committeeman was expected, Ald. Scott Waguespack’s (32nd) original opponent, incumbent John Fritchey, dropped out a month before election day, giving Waguespack an unopposed path to victory.

Practically every other local incumbent was unopposed this year, including State Senator and Senate President John Cullerton (D-6), State Rep. Ann Williams (D-11) and State Rep. Sara Feigenholtz (D-12).

Tags: , , , , ,

Share this now!

  • JoeLake

    Ald. Scott Waguespack (32nd Ward) received 2,331 votes for the 32nd Ward Democratic Committeeman race–the other guy, no mention.  Joe Lake, Chicago

    • JoeLake

      Chicago-50WardCommitteemenConnection2012  http://groups.yahoo.com/group/Chicago-50WardCommitteemenConnection2012  Joe Lake, Chicago

  • Steve Jensen

    Ald. Scott Waguespack is on the right-side of history.

  • JoeLake

    The Power of 121 Votes. The History of the 2007 32nd Ward Aldermanic Race. Ald. Scott Waguespack won with 4,179 votes, 50.73%.  http://groups.yahoo.com/groups/32ndNLA

  • JoeLake

    The History of the 2011 32nd Ward Aldermanic Race. Ald. Scott Waguespack won with 8,845 votes, 65.83%. A total of 13,,437 votes were cast. Waguespack won all 52 precincts.  http://groups.yahoo.com/group/32ndNLA2011   Joe lake, Chicago

Spread the word